Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Navigate Up

Five ETFO Members Receive Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Five ETFO members have received the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence. The 35 teachers receiving the award this year are honoured for their remarkable achievements in education and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation-based economy.

“These awards reinforce the critical value of Ontario’s teaching profession for students and Ontario’s world-class education system,” said ETFO President Sam Hammond. “ETFO couldn’t be more proud of these members for their instructional techniques and innovative approaches to student learning and growth.”

Elementary Teachers’ of Toronto member Lynn Wilkins was one of 10 teachers across Canada to receive a Certificate of Excellence. A grade 7-8 teacher at Courcelette Public School, Lyn was recognized for making her classroom inclusive through universal design for learning and differentiated instruction and a similar approach to ensure all students have STEM learning opportunities.

Four ETFO members received a Certificate of Achievement from among 25 teachers across the country. They are:

  • Simcoe County member Pareen Gill, a Grade 3 teacher at Nottawa Elementary School for her innovative strategies to bring out the personal best in each student;
  • Toronto member Kim Lussier, a Grade 3 teacher at Norman Ingram Public School, for nurturing healthy and supportive relationships for the whole child;
  • Toronto member Terrance Alonza Saunders, a teacher at Lawrence Heights Middle School, for his culturally relevant and inclusive approach to teaching; and
  • Trillium Lakelands member Douglas Hogue, a teacher at Huntsville Public School, for bringing the requisite digital skills into a 21st century classroom.

Information on the Prime Minister’s Teaching awards can be viewed here.